My soul feels lost, like that of a dog without its owner.  I jump to a world without His existence, a world where my every human desire can be met in an instant.  As if this world can cure the longing in my soul.  I continue to run in the opposite direction, away from Him.  I run and run and run.  I tell myself that I can do what I want, can do whatever fulfills the gaping hole within me, but I am lost.  Forever chasing something that can not be made to fulfill a longing, I am a hamster running on a repetitive wheel of sin.  Being a male, I lustfully look towards women to satisfy my desires.  I drink on the weekends to allow my soul to “open” up to other lost souls.  But what does a lost soul tell another that has anything of value?  We run to fellow man hoping, no, even praying he has the answer we are looking for.  After another wasted conversation, a wasted breath on this earth, we find they have no answer to our longing.  No response to stop the fulfillment we so desperately seek.  Somehow through all this confusion, all this sin and pain that we inflict upon ourselves, the Lord shines through.  He breaks us down when we are most lost.  For me, this doesn’t come through the church, or any other conventional way of “connecting” with God.  It comes through His creation.  The literal place that we exist in creates wonder within me so much so that I cannot even fathom not following Christ.  Every aspect of His wondrous world drawing me nearer to Him even when I, in my never ending sin, continue to fight it.  With so much of His creation laid out before us, I find it comical that we ever looked elsewhere.  Nothing outside of our Creator will we find the fulfillment our souls so desperately desire.

“O God, You are my God; I shall see You earnestly; My soul thirst for You, my flesh earns for You, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.”  Psalms 63:1